





66th session of the Commission on the Status of Women (CSW66) High-Level Side Event

"Women's leadership in mitigating the impact of climate change and building a peaceful and sustainable climateresilient Africa"

17 March 2022 - 10:00 AM to 12:00 PM (EST) (GMT+5)
African Union Permanent Observer Mission (305 East 47th Street, New York, NT 10017)

DRAFT AGENDA

Time	Theme	Speakers
10:00 -10:30	Moderator	Welcome remarks and Moderation of the Opening Session
		H.E. Fatima Kyari Mohammed: AU Permanent Representative to the
		United Nations
	Opening Session	Introductory Remarks
		• H.E. Ms. Bineta Diop: AU Special Envoy on Women, Peace and Security,
		AWLN co-convener
		Opening Remarks
		Ms. Chido Mpemba: AU Youth Envoy
		H. E. Ms. Makhotso Magdeline Sotyu, Deputy Minister of Forestry,
		Fisheries and the Environment of the Republic of South Africa
		H.E. Josefa Leonel Correia Sacko, AU Commissioner for Rural
		Development, Blue Economy, and Sustainable Environment (ARBE)
		Keynote Speaker
		H. E. Dr Jewel Howard Taylor: Vice-President of the Republic of Liberia
10:30 - 10:35	In	terlude
10:35 - 11:30	High-Level Panel Discussion:	Moderator: Phoebe Donnelly, Head of Women, Peace and Security the
	How to build a peaceful and	International Peace Institute (IPI)
	sustainable climate-resilient	
	Africa through women	H.E. Ève Bazaiba Masudi: Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of
	leadership and activism?	Environment of the Democratic Republic of the Congo (Virtual)
		Ms. Antonette Ncube, Youth Climate Activist and Environmental
	Intervention from Ministers	preservation
	and Q & A	Ms. Jane Dorothy Anika, Youth climate expert, Kenya
		Mrs. Fatima Moussa, Chair of AWLN Niger
11:30 - 11:40	ŀ	Health Break
		Moderator: H.E Dr. Mèdessè Veronique Tognifodé Mewanou, Minister of
11:40- 12:00	Closing session:	Social Affairs and Microfinance and Chairperson of the AU STC on GEWE of
	"Call to action"	Benin
	and way Forward	H.E. Ms. Sima Sami Bahous: UN Women Executive Director
		H. E. Ms. Antje Leendertse, Permanent Representative of the
		Federal Republic of Germany to the UN
		Dr. Joanie Bewa, Chair of the AWLN Youth Caucus
END		





