Board & Council

Known as the International Peace Academy until early 2008, the International Peace Institute was founded by a group of individuals from both within and outside of the United Nations who believed that a thoroughly independent institution, free from official constraints, could make a unique contribution to strengthening inclusive multilateralism for a more peaceful and sustainable planet.

Click below to jump to:
Board of Directors
International Advisory Council

The Board of Directors

Jean Todt
UN Special Envoy for Road Safety
Former President of Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA)

Zeid Ra’ad Al Hussein
President and Chief Executive Officer, International Peace Institute

Valerie Amos
Master of University College, Oxford

Badr Jafar
CEO of Crescent Enterprises and President of Crescent Petroleum
Founding Patron of the Centre for Strategic Philanthropy at the Cambridge Judge Business School
Founder of the Pearl Initiative

Mads Nipper
President and CEO of Ørsted

Cliff Perlman
Attorney at Law

Owen Pell
President of the Auschwitz Institute for the Prevention of Genocide and Mass Atrocities
Retired Partner of Counsel, White & Case LLP

Ewout Steenbergen
Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer, S&P Global
Chair of the Board of Directors of UNICEF USA

Amy Towers
Former Chief Operating Officer of Glenview Capital Management
Founder of the Nduna Foundation
Co-founder of the Collaborating Centre for Operational Research and Evaluation in Harare, Zimbabwe
Trustee for Women for Women International

Suzy Wahba
Senior Member of St. Antony’s College, Oxford University
Former Anchor on Bloomberg Television
Former Vice-Chair of Hands Along the Nile

Michelle Yeoh
PSM, Actor
Goodwill Ambassador for the United Nations Development Program
Road Safety Ambassador for the “Make Roads Safe” campaign and the FIA Foundation

Mortimer Zuckerman
Chairman Emeritus

The International Advisory Council

H.E. Maged Abdelaziz
Permanent Observer of the League of Arab States to the UN

H.R.H. Prince Turki Al-Faisal
The King Faisal Center for Research & Islamic Studies

H.E. Mohamed Al Hassan
Permanent Representative of the Sultanate of Oman to the UN

H.E. Yoka Brandt
Permanent Representative of the Kingdom of the Netherlands to the UN

H.E. Maritza Chan Valverde
Permanent Representative of Costa Rica to the UN

Dr. Joni Maya Cherbo
CEO and President of the Resource Center for Cultural Engagement

H.E. Nicolas de Rivière
Permanent Representative of France to the UN

H.E. Anna Karin Eneström
Permanent Representative of Sweden to the UN

H.E. Mr. Sérgio França Danese
Permanent Representative of Brazil to the UN

Professor Ibrahim Gambari
Founder & Chairman
Savannah Center for Diplomacy, Democracy and Development (SCDDD)

Ameerah Haq
Former UN Under-Secretary-General for the Department of Field Support, Vice Chair of the High-Level Independent Panel on Peace Operations

Patricia Herdt
Senior Political Analyst, Observer of the International Organization of la Francophonie to the UN

Professor Ian Johnstone
Professor of International Law at Tuft University’s Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy

H.E. Elina Kalkku
Permanent Representative of Finland to the UN

H.E. Yerzhan Kh. Kazykhanov
Ambassador of Kazakhstan to the United States

H.E. Christina Markus Lassen
Permanent Representative of Denmark to the UN

H.E. Antje Leendertse
Permanent Representative of the Federal Republic of Germany to the UN

H.E. Olivier Maes
Permanent Representative of Luxembourg to the UN

H.E. Alexander Marschik
Permanent Representative of Austria to the UN

H.E. Maurizio Massari
Permanent Representative of Italy to the UN

H.E. Amre Moussa
Former Foreign Minister of Egypt
Former Secretary-General of the Arab League

H.E. Muhammad Abdul Muhith
Permanent Representative of Bangladesh to the UN

H.E. Fergal Tomas Mythen
Permanent Representative of Ireland to the UN

The Honorable Olara A. Otunnu
Former Under-Secretary-General and Special Representative for Children and Armed Conflict
President of LBL Foundation for Children

H.E. Martha Ama Akyaa Pobee
UN Assistant Secretary-General for Africa

H.E. Robert Keith Rae
Permanent Representative of Canada to the UN

Stephen Schlesinger
Fellow at the Century Foundation, Former Director of the New School’s World Policy Institute

Lisa Shields
Vice President of Global Communications at the Council on Foreign Relations

H.E. Christian Wenaweser
Permanent Representative of the Principality of Liechtenstein to the UN